statue with a budding flower

Why It’s Important to Unblock Your Base Chakra

If you have adventured into learning about Reiki treatments, done a yoga session or even tried meditating, you’ve most likely heard about your seven Chakras.

So, what are your Chakras?

They are the energy centers or energy organs along the spine, there are seven in total. Most researchers believe that the Chakra system began in India more than 4,000 years ago.

The seven Chakras start at the base of the spine and continue to the top of the head. Each Chakra influences the body in the unique physical, emotional, mental and spiritual ways. It is considered an energy organ that vibrates at its own particular velocity. Each Chakra has an associated symbol (yantra), colour, location, association, related organ, earth element and age of development.

What are the benefits of having a deeper understanding of your chakras?

Your body is continuously trying to maintain energetic balance to keep you in optimal health, and when the chakras become blocked or out of balance, then it becomes difficult for your life force energy (ki) flow around your physical and energy body. This can lead to your general health and vitality becoming negatively affected.

Each Chakra has its own ailments when they become blocked, so when we talk about being negatively affected different signs could be a feeling of anxiousness, having problems with your colon, feeling emotionally unstable, having a hard time making decisions and many others.

Blocked Chakras can become overactive or underactive. It helps to find out what Chakra is blocked and whether the blocked Chakra is overactive or underactive. When you find the blocked Chakra, you will also be able to discover what is actually blocking it and you can then begin to balance your energies and give your body what it needs to have the ability to heal that Chakra.

I found when I started learning about the Chakras, it became this fantastic journey. I’m all about bringing a sense of curiosity and discovery back to our energy systems and feel strongly that you can really take charge of your life and health when you approach your chakras with an open mind!

The Base Chakra

A good Chakra to start focusing on first in your Chakra journey is the Base Chakra. Also known as the Root Chakra. It is the solid foundation for all the other chakras. It is situated at the base of the spine, and it’s Sanskrit name is Muladhara which combines mul (“base”) and adhara (“support”). It is your primal center, responsible for your safety, security, and basic life needs.

The primary function of the Base Chakra is the survival of your physical body. Your ancestors had to fulfil their basic survival needs by hunting and gathering their food, and building shelter that protected them from nature’s elements. Nowadays, you aren’t required to hunt and gather your food (thanks to supermarkets!), and it’s not necessary to build your shelter, but you still have to manage the basics of life in the modern world and need to feel secure and stable financially and emotionally.

Some signs that your Base Chakra is being blocked and is unbalanced:

You may feel anxious, insecure, fearful, flighty or disconnected from others. You may find life overwhelming, and you let life’s daily tasks pile up (like laundry, housekeeping, paying bills on time). If your base chakra remains unbalanced for too long, you can become UNGROUNDED. This feels unsettling, and you generally feel kind of fragile.

When your Base chakra is balanced:

You have feelings of being safe and secure with the basic survival needs of life being met. Your life force energy (ki) flows well around your physical and energy bodies. You have resources and physical energy to spare, and you feel good about life and your place in the world. You feel exceptionally safe and GROUNDED. With regard to money, you feel no lack and manage money well, and pay your bills on time. With regard to family, you may have strong links with your parents, siblings and extended family. Even if you aren’t close to your birth family, you find your “tribe” who supports you. You take the responsibility of raising your children very seriously, and you generally feel fulfilled in your role as a parent.

There are many ways to help the base Chakra function well, and some of my upcoming posts on social media will give you some tips to start the process of healing, strengthening and balancing (such as focusing on colour, foods and your physical body). Having Reiki sessions also help clear the blockages in the root chakra, which have a positive influence on the other six chakras.

The entire universe is made of energy, and your body is no exception. By learning about the 7 chakras, you can become more in tune with the natural energy cycles of your body.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *